I am a proud parent of a son who has autism. It sure is not easy. Some days are great, while others are not so much. I live with my son, (my only child), my husband and my mom. I have a good deal of support at home, even though often times it seems as if I am a single parent. It can be overwhelming and stressful to parent a child with special needs. Nevertheless, I always believe there is a light at the end of the tunnel. I always strive to be at peace, to think positive and to be full of joy. Each day I remind myself that I need to be who I want my child to be. (Thanks Shane). Parent support has become such a a valuable part of my life. We are here to help each other get to where we need and want to go.
Image
I belong to a parent support group called My Time Inc., which I believe is like no other parent support group out there. It’s  a group that empowers and uplifts its parents to be the very best they can be for themselves as well as for their children. We believe that in order for our children to be happy and loved, we as parents need to be happy with who we are and to love ourselves unconditionally. We have come to know this and we do put ourselves first at times because if we don’t, no one else will.
Image
The parents at my support group are not only parents of children with special needs, they have become my friends. They really do care about what is happening with me and my child. We call each other, we check up on each other, we go out together and we support each other, no matter what. We laugh together, we cry together, we have each other’s back. It’s good to know that I am not alone, my friends are a phone call away. I am thankful for these wonderful women and men who were given this incredible opportunity to care for these wonderful and beautiful children with special needs who depend on us for so much. I believe we were carefully chosen by Christ to do his wonderful work. We all need support and I am very fortunate to have each of these parents as my rock. It’s great to know that I am not alone on this incredible journey. I am thankful for this blessing each day…..
Because I have a child with special needs doesn’t mean that I don’t have hopes and dreams. I know many of us parents were professional women who had to leave their jobs and careers to become full time care givers and that’s okay. We made that difficult but necessary decision because it was the best thing to do at that time.When our son was first diagnosed with Autism, my husband and I decided that we would not have any more kids mainly out of fear as well as the constant worry of what will happen to our son as he becomes older.
But as the years go by and our children gets older, we parents, especially mothers, realize that something is missing from our lives, we feel incomplete. Yes we are great mothers, wives, daughters and friends. But then we start asking ourselves, where am “I” in all of this? What  do I want to do with the rest of “my” life? Our lives should not come to a screeching halt just because we have a child with a disability. We have so much more to offer.
When the opportunity presented itself for me to become an entrepreneur, I jumped at the chance. This was something I would love to do. To become a Business Owner/Partner of Traci Lynn Fashion Jewelry. This business is so much more than Jewelry. It’s about the friendships that are cultivated, the networking, the partnership of like-minded people, the incredible stories of lives changing, the inspiration. As our leaders always say , “You’re in business for yourself, but not by yourself”. I love jewelry and I know many more women do as well. This business would allow me to become financially independent and would be the tool that I can use to leave a legacy for my child. My husband and I realized early on that our son would need so much support for the rest of his life. In order for him to live a life we know he deserves then we would have to have a reliable and steady stream of income because we would not and could not depend on Medicaid and Social Security to provide for all of our son’s needs.
I also realize that I am not alone with these thoughts. Many mothers out there are thinking the same as me. I will be able to show them how they can also become business owners and how they can also provide for their child’s future by becoming my Partner in this incredible business. We all have to take that first step….we are “HERE”, where do we want to go next…..the sky’s the limit…..
If you would like to see the beautiful jewelry I am offering, I invite you to look at my website and treat yourself! It is Mother’s day you know…..
DENISE JORDAN SELLS TRACI LYNN fashion jewelry  www.tracilynnjewelry.net/7846
